Respecting the awesome power of words!

Let Me

img_2703

"They will come."
the familiar story tells us.
First, for those
who are different than we,

those who are tekel –
measured by power and
control and found wanting,
to misconstrue the handwriting
Daniel read on the wall (5:27).

And when they come,
it will be time for us to act,
to stand, to speak –
to at least whisper or sing.

It will need to be more than,
"Ain't gonna study war no more..."
'cause war has already been studied –
been aced and PhD’d – by far too many.

Our song will need
to be – have to be –

"Let me introduce you
to my sister, my brother.
Let me show you how
we’re really not so other.

Let me hold your privilege/power
while you sit and have
a cup of tea with us.
Let me teach you a song
about what it’s like
to be with us.

Let me tell you a story
‘bout a kindom built on love,
mortared with grace.
Let me show you photographs
of our children, of our family,
of our homeplace.

Let me... let me..."

© 2017 Todd Jenkins
3 responses

  1. Lovely. Thank you.

    Like

    January 10, 2017 at 6:06 am

  2. Andrea Stoeckel

    One if those ” things that make you go hmmmm”. Lovely is a good desxruptwr here. ( and “teckel” is also German “slang” for dachshund)

    Like

    January 10, 2017 at 8:23 am

  3. John Mark S

    Yes Todd!
    Let me hold, let me introduce…
    Let me… here i am Lord, let me

    Like

    January 11, 2017 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

