Respecting the awesome power of words!

Steps

fullsizerender-101

"I'm not really a dancer." I said.

Something quaked
at the center of my soul,

"Yeah, this isn't really about
what you think you're good at
or what you believe
makes you look good."

"But, I don't have rhythm!"

"You can breathe, can't you?
In and out, with a tick-tocking flow,
especially when you
slow down and pay attention."

"Well, yeah; there's that;
but I'm more of a walker,
or even a runner.
I mostly want to make progress;
to get where I'm going."

"I've noticed that about you;
and I think you might be
missing out on something important."

"And what might that be?"

"Your life is lived as if
arrival is your purpose,
and as if you must
find your way toward me.
Life is really about journey;
about paying attention
to the people traveling
with you and being present
to and in each moment.

One more thing:
I am the dance."

© 2016 Todd Jenkins

 

3 responses

  1. Mona Lee

    I love this! And I was just feeling guilty for dancing……Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 11, 2016 at 8:55 am

  2. Harlon Mills

    Thanks for sharing this Todd, but you really need to stop reading my thoughts without my permission:)

    Liked by 1 person

    October 11, 2016 at 9:07 am

  3. What a wonderful way to think of movement that is unabashedly, joyously not progression.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 11, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

