Respecting the awesome power of words!

Exchange

j-jenkins-22

                 Photo by Jennie Roberts Jenkins


As I stood in the Customer Service queue,
  my mind and heart were conflicted.
    It seemed to be such a lovely gift,
      with so much promise and security.

    How could I think of returning it
  for something else, and
what else could I need or want?

Each time I used it,
  I felt so confident and self-assured.
    I hardly noticed the way
      it created distance between us;

        how it funneled a mass of possibilities
      into a narrow chute of constriction.
    But my breathing had become
  labored over time, as if
a heavy stone pressed against my chest.

Whatever this gift had promised
  in its advertising and promotion,
    my body was telling me it was a lie.

    When my turn finally came, I placed
  the well-worn box on the counter.
"How can I help you?" the clerk inquired.

"This doesn't do for me
  what I thought it would.
    I'd like to exchange it
      for something else."

"I see." she replied.

"I'd like to exchange this
  Control for more Awareness."

      There have been days
    when I’ve wanted to go back
  and ask for it again, but then I realize
how much my lungs have expanded;

how much more all the sensations,
  within and without, have blossomed;
    how I find myself experiencing life
      in ways I'd never before imagined;

      how I’m starting to realize I am surrounded,
    every day and every moment,
  by so much joy and beauty
just waiting to be noticed.

© 2016 Todd Jenkins
2 responses

  1. dee

    Todd, this is wonderful. I’d like to use this in an Advent bulletin. With attribution, of course! So, so good. LOVE it.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 15, 2016 at 7:30 am

    • Awesome! Thank you for the idea.

      Like

      September 15, 2016 at 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

